Sweet Justice Series Novels

Indiebound Amazon Barnes & Noble Books-A-Million Murder by the Book Kobo

Reckoning for the Dead

Book 4

 The official story is that Garrett Wheeler, the Sentinels’ chief, is dead—killed in a covert op gone horribly wrong.

But Alexa Marlowe—his ex-lover and most trusted agent—isn’t buying it.

Overnight, a new leader has mysteriously assumed control of the elite vigilante organization, a man Alexa Marlowe can’t afford to trust. In search of Garrett and the truth, she goes rogue and off the grid, following a deadly trail that leads into Mexico, behind the fortress walls of a murderous drug cartel boss. Alone, Alexa has no one to watch her back, not even her new partner, Jessie.

Ex-bounty hunter, Jessie Beckett, has troubles of her own. Her world is turned upside down when her DNA turns up as evidence in a gruesome murder committed when Jessie was only a child, before her life was shattered by an infamous killer. Solving a very cold case may hold the key to who she really is or kill the only memory she has of a woman she believes is her mother.

For Alexa and Jessie, the dead must have a reckoning.

Excerpt

 

El Paso, Texas – Nearly Midnight

After he’d sent a text message on his cell phone, twelve year old Ruben de los Santos did as he’d been ordered to do. He followed the man from a safe distance as he left the cantina, heading for his car. The parking lot was down two blocks and around a corner if the man stuck to the well-lighted streets. If he knew of the short cut, he would use the alley.

That’s what Ruben prayed he would do.

When the stranger looked over his shoulder, Ruben ducked into the shadows of a doorway and waited until it was safe to move. With his heart racing, he counted to five before he emerged from the shadows. By the time he did, the man was gone.

Ay, Dios mio,” the boy muttered, with his eyes alert.

» Read More

Ruben looked down the lit street and saw no sign of the man, but when he turned toward the alley, he caught a glimpse of movement. It had to be him.

He ducked into the alley and stepped up his pace to catch the man. When he got to the end of the alleyway, he stopped and held his breath. Slowly he inched closer to the corner and peered into the darkness.

That’s when a hand grabbed his shirt collar and pulled him off his feet.

“Please … don’t hurt me,” he begged.

Ruben covered his face with his hands and raised his voice higher, sounding more like the boy he was.

“Why are you following me, kid?”

» Read Less

 

Praise

Reckoning for the Dead is vintage Jordan Dane with street savvy women who deliver justice with plenty of kick.”
—Iron Mountain Daily News 

Reckoning for the Dead by Jordan Dane is a breathtaking blend of mystery, surprise and heart pounding adventure. A polished gem of riveting romantic suspense. A winner for fans of Tami Hoag, Andrea Kane, and Lisa Gardner.”
—Fang Books—Australia

“Jordan Dane crafts nail-biting thrillers. 21st Noir with guts, heart, and a wicked sense of humor.”
—Jonathan Maberry, New York Times Bestseller